Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-27-2004, 07:13 PM

Default AKs

Usually play 100nl and below but I won a seat in 500nl at stars.
In secoond hr, blinds 100-200 ( I have 3500 in chip)
4 limpers, I have AKs on CO and raise to 800
Button raises allin and has me covered.
I call, he shows kk I'm gone.

SHould I be laying down AK more often to a RR allin?
Only been playing nl tourny's for about 6 months and down money even though have some decent finishs. This seems to be a way I'm out a few times ...
Old 06-27-2004, 07:18 PM

Default Re: AKs

I'm no tourney expert either but the question I'd ask myself in that situation is: "What could he be re-raising so much with that I can beat?". If he has a pocket pair below Ks, you're only a coinflip, to KK and AK, you're a big dog, and to AK, you're tied. Do you think he's doing this with AQ, KQs, AJs, or something like that that you'd be substantially ahead of? I'll muck AK to a big reraise more often than not just because those reraises are almost always pocket pairs of some strength (dependent on the player) and I feel like I can find a better spot than a coinflip for my money.
Old 06-27-2004, 08:00 PM

From what i've read it seeems like the "pros" advice is that with 1200 in pot already ( when am I pot committed after raising with AK ?? ) its a call but I think that a decent player is laying down AK to a RR alot more than me. Winning these coin flips can build a nice chip lead but I think I need to learn to fold AK more pre flop.
My record is decent in the tourny's that have less tha 200 players but terrible when more than 400. I have a feeling that the players that seem to be in the money more are avoiding putting all there chips on the line for a coin flip.
Old 06-28-2004, 11:58 AM