Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-02-2004, 10:42 AM

Default Party 3/6 vs 5/10

Continuing the threads that have appeared in the last couple of weeks on the differences in low limits on Party, I'd like to throw out this observation and see if anyone agrees.

I recently started playing 3/6 after beating 2/4 handily for 6 months. I have struggled with this jump and the adjustment to the aggression and tightness of 3/6.

For kicks (and since I have the bankroll), I decided to sit in on a couple of full ring 5/10 games in the last 4 days and have found them to be softer, looser, and less aggressive then the 3/6 games.

Does anyone agree?

I post this because I know that my sample size in both 3/6 and 5/10 is way too low to draw any conclusions myself.
Old 06-02-2004, 11:08 AM

Default Re: Party 3/6 vs 5/10

The 5/10 games on Party are much better now than they were a few months ago. I don't know if they are softer than 3/6, but they are not as tight as they used to be.
Old 06-02-2004, 12:49 PM

I've sat in on a few 5/10 games at Party that my friends were playing, and was once again amazed by the poor play. And as someone mentioned in a prior thread, the structure of 5/10 actually allows you -- the educated player -- to play a bit looser due to the 2/5 SB structure (as opposed to 1/3 at 3/6), and see more flops.
Old 06-02-2004, 01:01 PM

Location: duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem (mets are 9-13, currently on a 1 game winning streak)

the biggest difference I noticed at 5/10 is how many different types of players there are. as a result, you'll experience completely different table styles, unlike at 2/4 where they all tend to be loose and somewhat aggressive. I've seen loose-aggressive tables, and tight-passive tables.