Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-18-2004, 04:52 AM

Default AKs $200NL

I'm fairly new to the game in MP with AKs in hearts, $200 stack,
2 limpers, 1 of which is really terrible, but I'm basing it from only one hand where he(has me covered) called $14 cold preflop with J8o in a threeway pot.
I make it $12 to go, a player in LP calls(has me covered), I don't respect his play at all, his call here could literally mean any two cards, he's not clueless however.
First limper folds, 14forJ8o calls.

Flop JTx (x being a 3 or 4) rainbow

Check, I bet $20, LP minraises, first guy folds.

Now on my other table I did get sucked out on very shortly prior to this with a rivered flush, and I was little mad so it's known.

At the time, I thought he had a draw, I called.

The turn was a blank, was a four or six.

I checked into about a $120 pot now, he bet $30. I had played not a lot with, but some with this opponent and his bet seemed odd here, I called again.

The river came a King.

If I bet here, he will certainly not fold a better hand and will likely fold if he was bluffing. So I checked with the intention of calling. He went all-in.

I called.

I'm a big fan of giving up on AK when you miss especially against players who I don't respect. This time happened to be different, his bets seemed very odd to me and I really felt I held the best hand the entire way.

Comments?
Old 05-18-2004, 08:37 AM

Default Re: AKs $200NL

Well, since you said he is not clueless, he saw you raise 7X the BB Preflop, but was not scared on the flop and bet

Your call probably has him thinking overcards.

Same action on the turn, he bets, you call.

Then despite the king on the river (completing str8s and two pairs) he goes all in.

I would say that he hit his str8 or his two pair on the river and takes it down.

JW
Old 05-18-2004, 12:14 PM