Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-05-2004, 03:11 PM

Default What do they mean by \"If you had gone All In, i would have called?\"

I'm fairly new to No Limit. I play it live with 5-5 blinds and $300 max buy-in.

On more than a few occasions, i've heard players I dont really respect say something like "I wish you had bet all-in instead of 'x' because i would have called."
Just last night, I had about $900 in front of me with 66 in LP. Pot is 6 way for 30 bucks each.
Flop comes A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]2 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]6 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. MP to my right opens for $60. I make it $260 and it is folded around to MP who calls all in. Spade on the turn, blank on the river, and i take it against A8 off.

LP to my left says "Oh, i laid down T [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]9 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. I wish you had gone all in because i would have called you. She had about $1,200 in front of her at the time. What he heck does this mean? Do they read all-in as a bluff? Do they just want a juicier pot? Wouldn't she rather see the turn for $260 instead of $900?
Old 05-05-2004, 03:52 PM

Default Re: What do they mean by \"If you had gone All In, i would have called?\"

I am glad you asked that. I have heard that same thing in my home game, but we usually say it as a joke. However, maybe there is some real meaning behind it?
Old 05-05-2004, 04:05 PM

Default Re: What do they mean by \"If you had gone All In, i would have called?

I think the kind of people who say this thing are of the 'gambler' mindset.

If they call a bet they're faced with a tough decision on the next card. If they shove the whole thing in they don't have to think anymore.

I think it's a sign of being a poor player.

-Ben
Old 05-05-2004, 06:58 PM