Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Other Poker Games
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-16-2004, 02:52 PM

Default Omaha Danglers

I was thinking about the dangler concept and the idea of if it's suited then it's not really a
dangler, but....check out these 2 starting hands

K [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] J [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 2 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]
vs.
K [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] J [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 2 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]

The duece suits the K which is what the J does in hand 2. There essentially the same
hand, right?

Thanks for any comments
Old 03-16-2004, 03:15 PM

Default Re: Omaha Danglers

I am pretty new to Omaha 8, but one minor advantage that I can see with the first hand, is that it opens the possibility that the J[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] is in someone elses hand.

If a backdoor [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] flush appears, an opponent might be tempted to call or even raise with it.

This might make it more valuable than the straight flush possibilities the second hand presents.

Gewürtztraminer
Old 03-16-2004, 04:54 PM

Pokeryogi - .

K[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] is a poor starting hand.

Having a suited king does add some value over a rainbow hand, but not enough. The deuce is still a dangler.