Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-24-2004, 11:57 PM

Default Success worth waiting for

This post is a thank you to those that responded to a post of mine from a week ago. I had expressed frustration and asked for help on how to play against the home player types that are generally ignorant to basic strategy. I got punked in a home game on guys that were seeing 75%+- of the flops, and were sucking out on me left and right with crap starting hands.

I am new to Hold Em, but have been playing recreational poker for a dozen years. I absorbed the advice and utilized it Saturday in a $150 buy in, No Limit HE Tourney held at a friend of a friends home. There were 24 participants.

The blinds started at 5/10 and everyone received $1000 in chips to start. We played at 4 tables of six. The idea was to play until 8 people dropped out, then redraw to three tables. This took the better part of four hours. I kid you not, but for the first 90 minutes, I did not scrape a single pot. Not even ten bucks. I remember one of the tougher beats - I had come in with KQ, flopped top pair and bet it to the river. I ended up losing to two pair, jacks and sixes. Yes, the fellow had come in with J6o, not in either blind. This was happening on every other hand. I had to tighten up even more, but two hours in, I was looking at a $400 stack and starting to worry. I was thinking that I was going to drop out in 21st place, and that would tell me that I really suck.