Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-24-2004, 04:35 PM

Default Limit move up!

Hi everyone,

I just had a question with regards to moving up limits.

I have been playing poker seriously for about 4 months now.... I started out @ 3/6 and did well, while gaining experience at the tables. I then decided to move up to 6/12 and have done extremely well, that I am now equipped with a good sized bankroll to play 10/20. I feel very comfortable with my game and bankroll, but am unsure about the experience requirements. I know for the most part, that the players in the 10/20 games at Hollywood Park are weak, but there are probably a few who are better than most that I play with @ the 6/12 tables.

How many hours should I play @ 6/12 before I move up to 10/20.

Thanks for any of the future responses,

Steve
Old 02-24-2004, 05:07 PM

Default Re: Limit move up!

Well how many hours have you played total? can you note most mistakes made by your opponents in the game you choose to play? do you select good games or just sit whenever a seat is available? do you critique your play after each session (do you keep a notebook)? and so on and so on...

basically what you should do (with that adequate bankroll) is PROBABLY just continue playing 6/12 while on occasion playing in what looks to be a good/great 10/20 game. (read: not much raising preflop, players going to far w/ losing hands, poor cold calls on flop and turn etc.)

also, while taking those occasional shots, watch the GOOD players at your table (if there are any) and see how they hands situations that you run into all the time.

hope this helps
-Barron
Old 02-24-2004, 05:12 PM

ive played a lot at hollywood park. the games there are amazing. the 15-30 there has to be the softest easiest mid limit game on earth.