Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-24-2004, 02:45 AM

Location: seattle!!!__ too sunny to be in a cardroom....ahhh, one more hand
Default 1st time ever calling a string bet.

i've never done it before as usually i dont really care. especially with newer players. hell, theyre just trying to get chips in the pot without spraying them all over the table.

but today, i was in a pissy mood. it was one of those sessions where you win the 1st pot, then lose for 2 hours. then get moved to the main game, win the 1st pot, then lose for another hour and a half. getting snapped off and all. it sucked.

so im stuffing my yap with rice, get a hand, bet it the whole way and get raised by a guy on the end who'se been defiantly putting his chips in calling me. this guy is also a frickin slob. up to his wrist pickin his nose and then trying to discreetly wipe it on his pants or flick it on the floor behind him. it was gross!!! im talking digging for gold here. the 'cover the first knuckle and rotate in the nostril' move. he wasnt a A-hole or anything, but cmon man, call for a tissue or take 2 hands off and go blow your frickin nose. sick bastard.

well, when he raised the river, he used 2 hands to put his chips in, joining them together in 2 neat little piles. sitting all proud of his great catch on the river. god knows what's on those chips. i know he has me beat, but i dont feel like paying an extra bet to see his kicker. (i wanted to see what he coldcalled my preflop raise with)

he'd been doing this quite a bit too. making a show of his raising prowess. maybe got the idea from WPT, who knows.