Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-25-2004, 11:26 PM

Default My Story as a Poker Player

Today is a great day, at least for me. Not only because I won $1,400 in 3 hours but also because for the first time in my brief life as an internet poker player I crossed the $10,000 line. So far I have won $10,640 in 4 months, half of which I won this month ($5000 in 42 hours playing one 15/30 table at Empire, BB/hr 3.90)

I've been here on this forum for a while but this is my first post. I decided to make it because when I first started playing poker the "success story" posts were what gave me the support to keep trying it when I was on a cold streak and doubted my skills to succeed. I live in Buenos Aires, Argentina and I'm 22 years old. I don't study nor work... I just play poker for a living [img]/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]

Background:
I finished school on the end of 1999. On 2000 I went to the University to study Philosophy. Six months later I changed to History. Six months later I changed to Literature. A year and a half later I abandoned it. I just couldn't study even tough I was the first of my class on high school. I think that by then I had lost the will to study, I started questioning if it was worth the effort the 5-6 years of study to work on something for 30 years that I didn't like it. And don't get me wrong. I like Philosophy, History and Literature but I like to read about it, not to study it. I still read books about all that subjects but I can't force myself to study.