Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-24-2004, 06:07 PM

Default Vision going bad from playing too much internet poker

Ive been playing internet poker for over 3 years and my vision is going bad. Close up vision is fine but things at a distance are blurring. I went to an eye doctor and he said this was normal with aging and could also be casued by staring at a computer screen for long periods of time. I'm thinking about cutting back online poker because of this. Any one else having this problem?
Old 01-24-2004, 06:10 PM

Default Re: Vision going bad from playing too much internet poker

Yes, and I'm 18 [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Old 01-24-2004, 06:28 PM

Default the story of my eyes.....

yes....i'm glad i'm not the only one.
my eyes are especially sensitive to light and other influences (very difficult to take eye-drops, movie theatres, flash-bulbs, etc etc).
i've been a blinker or a squinter for much of my life.
strangely, i am the only member of my family that does NOT require glasses (although i sense that may change within the next 3-5 years).
it's possible the sensitivity is related to the fact that my eyes are very light-blue (but i thought the DARK colors were supposed to absorb the light....hey, i'm just going by what the doctor said).

anyway, different screens and different brightness levels work differently for me. also, setting up a light behind my head seems to work better for me than in front of me or to the side of the screen. even different wattages of light-bulbs, etc etc seem to make a difference.

have also been known to wear sunglasses playing internet-poker....and in movie theatres sometimes....which isn't nearly as cool as people think i am trying to be. i truly am a guy who's been known to cry at the movies....girls think i'm deeply moved.