Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-28-2003, 12:16 AM

Default any consistent winners year in year out regret playing poker/living

In college I played enough to pay for my housing and misc expenses at UCLA. I graduated 1.5 years ago with a CS degree and could not find a job. Have not really tried hard enough partly because I was making enough to pay off my rent, util, car payments, the stafford loan I took out for tuition, sending some money to my sister and some spending money.

Now I'm grateful I can even make a steady income but I'm good player not a great player and don't see that in my future. I think it does take a great player to make a comfortable living and as of now I'm just making the minimum needed to get by in LA. Now my girlfriend wants to get more serious and it is tough going to family dinners where the first thing people ask someone my age, is what, are you doing now. During this past holiday in between her work party, her family and my family dinner I've had to lie to probably 2 dozen people. Granted I am a poker player but I don't like lying to people.

And though my friends have had to venture into different fields and start much lower than we all imagined they are slowly moving up with connections, health benefits, 401k etc. Eventhough it's only 1.5 years I feel it's a big gap of nothing on my resume and as time goes by it will be harder to explain. Feels like a rut though I can make 25-30k it just seems like an endless not very rewarding circle. Anyone get stuck in this circle and regret it?
Old 12-28-2003, 01:55 AM

Default Re: any consistent winners year in year out regret playing poker/living

Another trap - besides no Health ins and so forth is there will be a time when you will feel guilty for NOT playing.

Just a thought - I know pro Golfers have that problem
Old 12-28-2003, 01:59 AM