Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-11-2003, 04:34 PM

Default Is it possible for a table to be too bad to play?

I've been playing on the internet for a couple months at .50/1 mostly at Stars and UB. I usually see about 22% of the flops and have made some money. Most authors endorse looking for a table with a flop % of 40 or better. I've noticed at Pacific that the flop% are constantly 70%+. I've made money at Pacific but the bad beats are starting to wear on me. At least on Stars I got beat by decent hands. Is there an optimal flop% to look for? Is there a point at which a high flop% becomes a hinderance rather than a help? Any other comments on picking a table to play?
Old 12-11-2003, 04:42 PM

Default Re: Is it possible for a table to be too bad to play?

The way I understand it, the more mistakes your opponents make the more you profit. Imagine a game where every opponent calls every bet on every street. It seems to me that you could make more money at that table than at a "typical" fishy table. The closer a real life game comes to this imaginary extreme the more profit you can expect from it as long as you can adjust your strategy accordingly. That's how it looks to me anyway.

/mc
Old 12-11-2003, 04:54 PM

Is there a point at which a high flop% becomes a hinderance rather than a help?

It depends on what you want. Typically, the higher the flops seen(by the table), the less hands you'll win. However, you'll win more each time your hand does hold up. It would take some extreme adjustments, but I would love to play at a table where everyone is seeing the flop.

Cup
Old 12-11-2003, 05:02 PM

No, but the variance could drive you buggy.
Old 12-11-2003, 05:05 PM