Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-19-2003, 01:47 PM

Default David Sklansky, Cannibal

Or so the title of the article would have you believe.

http://www.pokersavvy.com/article/wildholdemi.html

This article seems to address, at least partially, the difficulties I've had with Holdem for Advanced Players.

I'm fairly new to the threads, but do people agree that for the most part, playing Sklansky-tight is often (ie, usually) a mistake. For starters, I'd hate to think how much smaller my bankroll would be if I didn't play low-medium pair in early position. The implied odds on sets are just too great in the games I play in.

ed
Old 11-19-2003, 01:59 PM

Default Re: David Sklansky, Cannibal

HPFAP recommends playing small pocket pairs in early position in a loose (weak) game. So what's the problem?
Old 11-19-2003, 02:00 PM

The games he is describing in the article sound like wild low-limit type games. Sklansky expressly states in his book that it is intended for middle to high limit. That's a huge difference.

You state that the games you play in allow you to make money with low pocket pairs from early position. First, unless you have long-term pokertracker data, that is a guess, and not a fact. Second, if it is true, then it is not the kind of game Sklansky was focusing on.

Old 11-19-2003, 02:31 PM

I read that article. The author completely ignored Sklansky's section on loose games, and the fact that it says in the text specifically that the advice is geared for 10/20 and above.

Will
Old 11-19-2003, 02:36 PM

If you are playing so tight that you are killing the action, then you need to loosen up. HEFAP recommends raising with something like 76s, hope that you get to showdown so people will see that a raise isn't always a monster and rags don't mean you missed.