Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-17-2003, 08:36 AM

Default Winning at microlevels - but at what level will it get tough?

Hi everyone

1st time poster here who is very slowly working up the micro-limit levels.

I started playing online poker (Texas Hold'em) a couple of years ago on the play money tables at Pokeroom and found that winning was easy. Well no one really takes play money seriously (flop % = 90% with me being the 10% folding). I knew I was a beginner and wanted to improve so I invested in the usual recommended books and also started reading the 2+2 forums. These forums are excellent and have greatly improved my play, helping me become tighter and more aggressive.

About 6 months ago I decided to take the plunge and start playing for real money. The only problem was I had no spare cash, so I had to start my bankroll with a measly $10. I chose Planet Poker to commence playing for real as they have a good range of micro level games. So with $10 + $5 bonus I sat down to the $0.02 - $0.04 tables. To my surprise I found that winning was nearly as easy as it had been at the play money tables. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

I follow the recommended BB requirement and do not move up in stakes until I reach 300BB at the new higher level. Progress is slow but steady and I have moved up through the $0.05 - $0.1 tables to the $0.1 - $0.25 tables. My bankroll is currently around $102 and my average win rate is around 3BB per hour. I have to say that the skill level at the $0.1 $0.25 tables is no higher than at the $0.02 - $0.04 tables, but maybe that is because I am improving all the time and am now more observant about other players mistakes. I find that most players are way too loose and mainly calling stations with some maniacs.