Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-30-2003, 12:24 AM

Default NL Party Poker Philosophy

I thought about posting this under General Theory, but after reading titles like "Should straights be ranked higher than flushes in Hold'em" and "Is poker a sport" I decided against it.

I've been playing the $100 buyin games at Party Poker for 2 months now. Was coasting along quite well and have now hit a solid brick wall. I'm actually down 2k in the last week. But, still well up since the start.

My question is what is the best strategy for this game? For those who are unfamiliar with the structure it is a $100 buyin max with the blinds at $1, $2. This is a very high blind structure in relation to the buyin compared to Paradise and Stars.

The players are mostly terrible and the main fault is that they call too much. I think my recent losses can be blamed on my trying to run over tables full of calling stations.

If anyone has experience playing here and being very successful, I'd love to hear your thoughts on strategy.

My own thoughts are that a very tight, very aggressive style will work best.

On a side note. I had AKs in the BB with 5 limpers ahead of me. I raised to $20 figuring everyone would fold and I'd pick up the $10 or $12 in the pot. What are your thoughts on this play?

soda
Old 08-30-2003, 12:41 AM

Default Re: NL Party Poker Philosophy

[ QUOTE ]
My question is what is the best strategy for this game? For those who are unfamiliar with the structure it is a $100 buyin max with the blinds at $1, $2. This is a very high blind structure in relation to the buyin compared to Paradise and Stars.

[/ QUOTE ]