Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-26-2003, 09:59 PM

Default Critique these hands in no-limit tourney.

I just started playing poker about 6 months ago by joining a local Texas Holdem home game (each player takes turns hosting the game). It's tornament style Holdem, $30 buy-in gets you 150 in chips. 8 players with payouts going to the top 4 finishers. Stakes start at $2-$4 and gradually increases to $20 - no-limit by the end of the night.

Last night I found my self heads up in the no-limit portion of the tournament (everyone else had been knocked out) against one of the more experienced players in our group and he has a two-to-one chip lead over me (about 800 - 400). He was effectively using his stack to bully me by making it 70 to go on just about every hand. I wasn't able to catch any monster pre-flop hands, the blinds were bleading me, and he wasn't letting me see any cheap flops. With all that in mind, I'd like some feedback on these two hands:

1) Current chip count is about 900-300:
I have 6h, 4h - he's first and he makes it 70 to go - I call.

flop comes:
As, 6c, 3h - he bets 50 - I contemplate what to do and eventually go all-in. I decided that a pair in heads up is pretty good, I have a runner-runner draw for a straight, flush and straight flush, plus I was hoping to "represent" a pocket Ace.

He folds - I obviously don't know what he had.

2) Chip count is now around 850 - 350:
I have k,2 off-suit - I'm first and I make it 70 to go - he calls.

flop comes:
Q, 9, 2 rainbow - I bet 100 (in hinds sight this was probably a mistake) - he raises 100 - I think about it and again go all in. A call isn't an option because that will only leave me with 80 - so it's either all-in or fold. I figured at least I had a pair and an over-card to the board if he already had a pair.