Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-27-2005, 04:05 PM

Default bluff with 88 trying to represent an ace

I don't bluff much as I'm not very good at it, but I'm trying to add it into my game. What do you guys think of this bluff? My image should be pretty tight at this table, and the villains stats are 25/2.2 after 130 hands. I decided not to bet the flop in case the bb or sb checked their ace. When the villain bet the turn I was reasonably sure he had an under pair like qq/jj/1010, and I thought I'd give a shot at representing the ace. He didn't believe that raise, but checked the river, which made me believe even more that he had an under pair. I was nearly certain he was weak there, but I wasn't totally certain he would fold if I bet, should I have continued my bluff and bet another 25$ say? This is why I suck at bluffing I believe, I just don't have the confidence/balls for it. Any opinions appreciated.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $ BB (10 handed) FTR converter on zerodivide.cx

UTG ($133.75)
UTG+1 ($95)
UTG+2 ($172.96)
MP1 ($100)
MP2 ($212.70)
MP3 ($113.08)
CO ($174.82)
Hero ($100.30)
SB ($98.93)
BB ($98)

Preflop: Hero is Button with 8[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 8[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]. SB posts a blind of $0.50.
<font color="#666666">4 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">MP2 raises to $2</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, Hero calls $2, SB (poster) calls $1.50, BB calls $1.

Flop: ($8) A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 3[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 9[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
SB checks, BB checks, MP2 checks, Hero checks.

Turn: ($8) 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>