Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-06-2003, 12:27 AM

Default Where do you play because what i read is BS

I have been playing on poker stars for the last 6 months and am doing ok in the tournys. What i have read hear about raising 4 times the big has confused me so i tried it today in the 100$ nl tourny. Blinds are first level i have KK utg and raise to 120 ( i think 6x big blind ) and get 6 callers. You keep asking what they will call with, well i dont know but not everyone could have AA, kk, and so on. Playing in the 33$ nl 2 table sit and goes and you raise 400$ in the first level you have guys coming back at you all in with any piar 22-AA. Everyone calls with AK and so on. So what i am asking is where is it that Little raises gets people to fold, they call big raises with crap.

Please give a new place to play tournys.
Old 06-06-2003, 04:00 AM

Default Re: Where do you play because what i read is BS

Please give a new place to play tournys.

Ultimate bet, but the buy-ins are far smaller than those at Pokerstars. Sounds like you might benefit from a cheaper education. That's where I am paying for mine.
Old 06-06-2003, 06:21 AM

When I raise to $60 at the 10-20 level on Pokerstars ($10 - $50 tournaments usually), everybody folds very regularly.

Hmmm.

Guy.
Old 06-06-2003, 07:35 AM

Basically what you're saying is you don't want people calling your big raises when you KK and AA? I would think the situation you described was a good thing not a bad thing. You're rasing big with KK and people are coming back at you w/ any pocker pair and A/K? Sounds like an optimal situation to me.
Old 06-06-2003, 08:54 AM