Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-17-2005, 12:38 PM

Default Basics: Small pair, one limper

I suppose this is basic, but I'm new to big tourneys.

Around 200 left of 698. Blinds are $300/600. My stack is $8620. MP is loose and passive.

I'm button with 3[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 3[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

Folds. Middle player with $5210 limps. Folded to me.

Fold, call, raise or raise all-in?
Old 10-17-2005, 12:43 PM

Default Re: Basics: Small pair, one limper

Calling is almost always wrong here. Whether to raise or fold depends on read on limper (If he's limp/folded before, raise) and a little bit on how the blinds play (loose big stack = fold).

A raise really has to be a push here.

Editted to take out my idiot's comment that 4xBB is acceptable.
Old 10-17-2005, 12:47 PM

There's already 1500 out there which is a pretty significant increase to your stack if you pick it up, which argues for a push. With your stack size I'd rarely be limping (mostly open-raising, and re-stealing) but this is the one situation where it is tempting. Not only can you play it for set value but if it's checked to you on the flop you can often bet and pick it up regardless of the flop. If you had 1K-2K less in chips or so it's an easy push, I think you have just the right amount where I might try a limp here.
Old 10-17-2005, 12:53 PM