Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-14-2005, 12:36 AM

Default playing all wrong

a little background:

okay...I'm a 10/20 and 20/40 B&M player who over the last 3 years, is a winning player. I'm not a pro, just a player who does a little better than average; someone with a passion for poker and the desire to get better.

Last year, I made a living playing the $50 and $100 SNGs on UB. Incredibly stressful - I do not want poker as my only form of income again. But I do want to supplement it - greatly.

For the last few months, I've been trying the limit ring games on various sites. And getting hammered. I've read all the books - SSHE,etc....I understand it, I practice it...

but I'm still getting hammered. We're talking 3-6 and 5-10. Even though I play much bigger games live, I refuse to try anything bigger until I WIN my way up.

So...I study my Pokertracker stats....

VPIP - 21%
PFA - 9.5%
W$SD - 54%

These aren't horrible stats, right? And yet I'm down over 2BBs/100 over 25,000 hands.

I've really studied my on-line game and have come to the conclusion that I'm playing too aggressively when the flop misses me, thinking I can move someone off of their hand.

In other words, I'm playing like it's a middle-limit game.

Is SSHE really only about pushing your edge - when you have an edge - and just laying down hands instead of making a play at the pot?

I mean, I understand SSHE's examples of when to semi-bluff, protect your hand, etc...and I do all that...but I'm also bluffing a lot.

Is this my downfall?
Old 10-14-2005, 12:44 AM

Default Re: playing all wrong

yes
Old 10-14-2005, 12:45 AM