Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-10-2003, 06:42 PM

Default Tourney Hand

I'm not very experienced in tournaments so the following situation had me stumped.

After 3 hours of play, I'm getting short, but not desparate. Have around 1400. My table was extremely loose for this stage(150/300 level) of a tournament. Would often be multi-way pots that stayed multi-way until the turn, and sometimes beyond.

UTG raised. UTG was a very tight player. Had never seen him show down anything less then AQ.

An early, also fairly tight, player called.

In middle position, I have pocket 10s. If I call it is likely that others will enter the pot, and also likely that the pot will be 3-bet and capped. If I raise, I think the other two will only call, or cap if they have AA, KK, AK, or QQ.

What should I do?

Also, how would this change if I suspected that no one else, or only the big blind would enter the pot?

Any help would be great.

Thanks.

Misha
Old 05-11-2003, 07:12 PM

Default Re: Tourney Hand

Against a tight raiser and a tight caller, fold. One or both of them has an overpair much of the time, and there is little doubt that you are facing 2-3 overcards in the best case scenario. Either that, or they're not as tight as you think.

Later, Greg Raymer (FossilMan)
Old 05-12-2003, 03:40 AM

You must fold, and incidentally, you are very short-stacked.

The reasoning:

It is likely that you are up against AA-JJ.

-and-

TT is not a hand you want to play vs 2 opponents if you can't collect postflop bets.
Old 05-12-2003, 09:33 AM

Fold. A tight raiser and a cold-caller is not good for TT. Find a hand soon but muck this one.

Ken Poklitar
Old 05-12-2003, 09:50 AM

I assume this was a limit hold'em tourney.