Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-2005, 03:37 AM

Default $25nl - rock or fancy?

Bit of background - I have been playing NL for about 6 months now, made a couple of $50 deposits and have worked my roll upto $400, but then I think I got a bit cocky, lossened up a bit too much, and then lost almost all of it. For the last month I have been kinda breakeven, up and down, getting nowhere fast.

I only play 1 table so that I can get a good read on my ops. But I was thinking that maybe I would be better off multi-tabling, and just playing ABC poker, waiting for the good hands, playing aggressively when they hit and laying down when I am clearly beat. I chuck out nice 2/3-pot size bets when I hit and don't give people cheap draws and steal a few pots with a nicely timed continuation bet. Sometimes though I try and get fancy every now and then, and bluff in signs of weakness, only to be called down by midpair who doesn't know how to make a lay down. This kind of action makes me feel that bluffing is a no-no at lowlimit and I should stop all this fancy play and just stick to basics instead of leaking my roll.

So a question to the $25 and $50NL players - should I stop bluffing and just play my cards??
Old 09-22-2005, 03:55 AM

Default Re: $25nl - rock or fancy?

[ QUOTE ]

So a question to the $25 and $50NL players - should I stop bluffing and just play my cards??

[/ QUOTE ]

No. Perhaps you should bluff less often, though, it's hard to say without seeing how you play. There are plenty of opportunities to bluff at the small stakes, but it is a tough matter to figure out when's the right time, and when you're just throwing money away, but that's what makes poker fun.
Old 09-22-2005, 04:03 AM