Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-10-2005, 01:35 PM

Default Question for 5/10 & up veterans: Do you play other games than NLHE?

I've been playing NLHE & PLHE online for approximately 2 years now and have done very well at it but I find that sheer boredom is becoming one of my larger leaks and I'm looking for ways to combat that. Unlike a lot of successful players at the 10/20 level and up, I'm under no illusions that I'm god's gift to poker, my strengths are a relatively solid game, good attention to my opponents tendencies, a long attention span (even though I do get bored, I suspect I'm better at maintaining focus than average), very disciplined about game selection and I very, very rarely tilt. This is not my job, it's just a hobby if a profitable one, I'm 5.8 BB/100 for my last 20k hands at 10/20 games on Party, Stars and Pokerroom, mostly ring games with 8+ people and that win rate has been pretty much par for the course as I've moved up the food chain. I have no desire to move up again to 25/50+ and get scalped by Spirit Rock, TheSea, etc. I'm looking to branch out poker wise and I'm considering 3 main options and I’d appreciate comments by other successful mid/high NLHE players who’ve tried similar things or have opinions.

#1. Work on my short handed game, focus exclusively on 6 handed or less. A lot more marginal decisions, a lot more action & meta game considerations and I'd definitely have to improve my LAG gears which are ok now but not my biggest strength.