Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-04-2005, 11:45 PM

Default Poker Stories: Anyone else living the freeroller\'s dream?

At the beginning of this year, I downloaded a bunch of poker sites and was basically learning how to play and just messing around in play money ring games and tournies. And then I lost my job, and had alot more time to play, but less money to see if I could do anything at the real money tables.

About 3 months ago, I took 4th in a 1000 player freeroll tourney that netted me a cool $40. The next day I luckboxed into a small buy-in ($5) MTT win that turned that $40 into about $200. Then, I started playing ring games mixed with tourneys and in 2-3 weeks had a bankroll of $2,000.

I've been going ever since. In the 3 months since that $40 freeroll 4th, I have cashed out around 4k and still have a 1k bankroll online. I've been playing about 80% .50/$1 and about 20% $1/$2. I haven't bonuswhored at all yet; but, that is on the horizon soon.

I was just wondering if anyone else was still living off a freeroll win from a long time ago. Got a story? Share it here if you want. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 08-04-2005, 11:52 PM

Default Re: Poker Stories: Anyone else living the freeroller\'s dream?

i guess i suck. i started with a $50 deposit+bonus to test the water.
Old 08-05-2005, 12:09 AM

About half a year ago, I found out that Royal Vegas was giving a $10 no-deposit bonus. I was under 18 then and had no way of depositing money to play online, so I used that to build my bankroll. Now, my bankroll is about $1900, and I can comfortably play 50NL. Woot!
Old 08-05-2005, 12:17 AM