Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-03-2005, 09:29 AM

Default 2nd 300+ BB downswing, is there something that I\'m not getting?

I suffered a loss of -350 BB back in early June and I managed to recover from it with a steady hard week of playing.

My most recent losing streak of the past 6-7 days has got me totally lost.

The loss has now surpassed -500 BB and I just can't seem to do anything right. I finally got a decent couple sessions in yesterday thinking i've broken my losing streak by making back 36 BB only to drop another 135 BB today.

Have I been losing so many hands to bad beats that I'm just not playing properly or was I on a good run and am now losing due to poor play in a few spots. I've been playing online 10-20 and above for the last 14 months and have been a decent winner in all the games.

But when I lose on the river to royal flushes twice in my last 10k hands, something just doesn't seem right.

Here are my stats below, am I just running really really bad and need to keep shooting through this or is it time to drop a limit for a bit and re-evaluate my game.

Any advice and comments will be appreciated!

(12k of my hands played are 4 handed or less and half of my hands are 6handed or less)

Old 08-03-2005, 09:51 AM

Default Re: 2nd 300+ BB downswing, is there something that I\'m not getting?

Dropping down in limits might be a good idea. Also, try sometimes it is nice to try a different game or perhaps play a few tournaments to gain some perspective.

You really need to post some hands in order to get feedback from all the solid poker minds that patrol these forums. This will help you examine your play objectively and identify your leaks.