Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-02-2005, 04:53 AM

Default profiting/progressing most easily as a limit player or an SnG player?

Right now I'm in the process of moving my relatively tiny bankroll from pacific poker to Party. I started playing poker with my friends in home games, signed up at pacific, never deposited but found a free $25 dollars in my account which I then turned into $400 after reading WLLH and this forum.

I'm trying to figure out what I want to concentrate on when I switch to Party, LHE or SnGs. Can anyone with experience in both tell me their experiences as far as which one was easier for them to progress in levels, and which they thought most profitable in the long term? Enjoyment is not really an issue, I played microlimit to start out and then switched to SnGs and I liked both but it's been a while since I played limit.

I did a search for one of the old threads comparing win rates of limit players at certain levels to win rates of SnG players at similar levels (relatively), but didn't find what I was looking for. If anyone has some of this information saved up I would appreciate it.
Old 08-02-2005, 05:09 AM

Default Re: profiting/progressing most easily as a limit player or an SnG player?

SNG's have less variance and are easier to beat, although long run eventually you will have to settle for being a 200+15 pro only making a few hundred thousand a year.
Old 08-02-2005, 05:27 AM

Default Re: profiting/progressing most easily as a limit player or an SnG play

Shorterm:

If you can hit bonuses then LHE.
If you have done those then sngs.

Longterm:

I wouldn't worry about reaching a cap of a "few hundred thousand a year". First of all, that's plenty. Second, who says you can't also play steps, MTTs and cash games??

Maybe you play NL cash games and then get into HU?? Plenty of money in that.