Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-31-2005, 03:12 PM

Default Am I really this awful? (LC)

I started playing some .5/1 6max when it started on party. At that time I was beating .5/1 full for 4+ bb/100 thru 25k hands. The players at 6max seem awful, yet through 5k hands my winrate is -4.8bb/100. I know that this is a small sample size, but that's also a very negative winrate. Should I be very concerned or should I keep plugging away and expect it to get better?

Thanks
Old 07-31-2005, 03:15 PM

Default Re: Am I really this awful? (LC)

That's a -250BB swing, which means yes, you should be concerned. Any time I undergo a downslide of more than 100BB I start examining my play, and it is extraordinarily rare for those not playing 50k+ hands a month to undergo downswings of more than 200BB without some severely bad play mixed in there.
Old 07-31-2005, 03:53 PM

When I played 6max at 1/2, my winrate was -5 in the first 5k hands. I knew i was running VERY bad. After 10k hands my winrate was positive.
So it really is a small sample but if you dont honestly feel that you are just on a terrible downswing, you probably are not and should be concerned.

Edit: Oops, didnt see it was 25k hands. I guess its more than just bad luck [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Old 07-31-2005, 04:03 PM

Most adjustments from full to 6 have one of two problems:

1. Being too weak tight. Having a VPIP of 17 and folding to tons of river bets is horrid.

2. Being too aggressive. This is by far the most prevalant problem, and it happened to me when I started 1/2. My vpip was 36 and my PFR was 29, and I was trying to push people off of better hands by betting and raising. Don't do this.
Old 07-31-2005, 04:18 PM