Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-23-2005, 08:33 AM

Default How to play in a very loose game?

I've been playing 0.05/0.10 at both PokerStars and Pacific Poker for a few weeks.

Average players seeing the flop at Stars is about 50% and 65% at Pacific. Players at Pacific are often "raise crazy" and pots become very large.

I've made a modest profit at the PokerStars tables but a loss at Pacific Poker. Often I just fold and fold preflop because of all the raising. Playing AA seems pointless as at the River you'd need at least a straight to win.

I've been playing according to WLLH but now have SSH and I am studying it and applying what I understand.

Has anyone any advise for playing these very loose tables at Pacific and what to do about all the raising.
Old 07-23-2005, 08:40 AM

Default Re: How to play in a very loose game?

Read and Re-read SSH, then read it again. Then, if you still believe that playing AA is pointless because too many people are playing hands WEAKER than AA, then read it again.

Focus on winning money with your better hands like AA, not winning pots.
Old 07-23-2005, 11:50 AM

These are dream games. This is the types of game most of us look for at the higher limits because while frustrating they are ultimately very profitable and beatable. You just have to understand that one pair will often not be enough to win.