Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-17-2005, 01:51 AM

Default What am I doing wrong?

So I am a beginner player and I had started without much of a clue. My VP$IP was around 40% and I actually was losing money at a slow pace. Anyway trying to increase my skill I went to reading and tried to read as much as I could on it. I have a number of books and have recently been trying to stick with the "right" way to play.

My VP$IP has dropped to 25.37, I try to defend my blinds (SB 44.62% of the time), I pay attention to pot-odds, raise appropriately, PF-R of 4.48, F-A of 1.37, T-A of 1.65 and R-A of 1.3 with a total agression of 1.43. Note that this past night I tried to play more aggressive (after a losing night earlier and had a Total Aggression of 1.67). Ok since Ive made a effort to play the "right" way .. I have been doing -9 BB/100 !

Some hypothesis to why that is ..

1) I am not playing aggressive enough (when I raised my aggression slightly tonight I went to -5 BB/100 ... which still sucks).
2) I am playing too many hands out of the blinds in terrible position.
3) Not playing tight enough? Im using a modified version of Slanskys for preflop play.
4) My post-flop play is terrible

Im leaning towards 4 and little bit of 1, but they all are probably a factor. I would like some feedback on a couple hands I had today.

I have a definate read on MP3 in this hand, as I have been playing him for the last hour and a half and have pokertracker and pokerace up. He is LA-A, T-AF of 2.18, I caught him raising ALL THE WAY THROUGH with a 10c5d with no pairs on the board all the way to show down. This guy raised anything and everything and called you down (WTSD of 42%). I put him at a holding a pair.

Party Poker 0.50/1 Hold'em (9 handed) http://216.119.70.224/converter/hhconverter.pl