Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-15-2005, 07:28 AM

Default Middle Limit Holdem

I've been playing for a couple of months now and use PT to track my progress, for the past 4 weeks or so I've been retooling my game basically on a weekly basis incorporating new ideas that I've seen in the forums and/or read in poker books.

In the last couple of weeks I've been reading Middle Limit Holdem and spending a good deal of time thinking over the many hand examples in there, I'm pretty sure this has been good for my game but I'm also aware that some of the advice is sometimes criticised as weak tight.

The thing is, I'm finding that trying to adopt the approaches in middle limit holdem seems generally more successful for me personally than the slightly more aggressive approach generally recommended for the micros. When I follow this approach it seems my W$SD goes up from around 55% to somewhere around 65% without really affecting my W$WSF at all. At this point I'm definitely folding more than I have previously and oddly having more success with deception on the limited occasions I am using it.

I guess my question is, can you do ok in the micros using the approach from middle limit holdem or is it actually too weak tight?
Old 07-15-2005, 08:52 AM

Default Re: Middle Limit Holdem

It's probably somewhat too weak tight, but these are general statements that don't really mean very much. I really like MLH, a lot, and I really like SSH, a lot. The thing that you have to do is to take situations where the advice is different and figure out why the recommendations are different. Then you're in a position to improve your understanding of your game.