Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-07-2005, 01:44 AM

Default How to play small pocket pairs?

Hi,
When I started playing poker a few months back, a friend of mine who is good at poker told me to limp in with any pocket pair and to even cold call if I am getting 3-1 odds. Over the 72K hands I played (most at .5/1 on PartyPoker) my biggest 2 losing hands are 22 (-0.28 BB per hand) and 44 (-0.27BB per hand). Was my friends advice wrong or I am just playing small pocket pairs poorly? I mostly play them for set value and never chase down with under pairs. I am especially unhappy limping in with small pocket early since someone often raises. Here is an example hand:
Party Poker 2/4 Hold'em (9 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is MP1 with 6[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 6[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, Hero calls, <font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, Button calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, BB checks.

Flop: (3.50 SB) 2[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 5[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Button raises</font>, BB folds, Hero folds.

Final Pot: 3.25 BB

Buttons Stats (over 81 hands): VPIP 8.6 PFR 0 AA 0.75 (AA probably not accurate since I only have 81 hands total and his VPIP is so low)

Should I have been more aggresive there? The pot was so small so it didn't seem worth it. Should I just stop playing small pocket pairs early since they are costing me money?

Thanks.
Old 07-07-2005, 01:54 AM

Default Re: How to play small pocket pairs?