Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2005, 02:02 AM
beernutz beernutz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: gulf coast
Posts: 908
Default Saving your stack

You hold TTxx on button and villian, somewhat laggy, holds 77xx UTG in PLO (unraised preflop). Your stack sizes are equal. Five see a flop of 77T. You bet pot on flop and are checkraised by villian. It is folded to you and a reraise puts you all in. Is there any way to save your stack here? This happened to me twice tonight on Party (flopped top boat vs. flopped quads) and I lost my stack both times. Am I just unlucky? The odds of a flopped top boat versus flopped quads must be pretty small and then add to that the likelihood of having it happen twice in one session.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2005, 02:24 AM
PorscheNGuns PorscheNGuns is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 312
Default Re: Saving your stack

You can never save your stack to quads over top boat in low stakes online PLO. Never. Pay off and reload.

-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2005, 02:43 AM
joewatch joewatch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 152
Default Re: Saving your stack

No way to lose your stack here with the stack sizes. If you were much deeper stacked, then you could probably call the raise and check-call the turn and river.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2005, 12:33 PM
autobet autobet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 790
Default Re: Saving your stack

[ QUOTE ]
The odds of a flopped top boat versus flopped quads must be pretty small and then add to that the likelihood of having it happen twice in one session.

[/ QUOTE ]
Once in a lifetime, most likely. I wouldn't even consider folding here...

I played with someone who lost to six set over set situations in one night, that has to be close to a record.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2005, 01:48 PM
Toddster18 Toddster18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: Saving your stack

[ QUOTE ]
You hold TTxx on button and villian, somewhat laggy, holds 77xx UTG in PLO (unraised preflop). Your stack sizes are equal. Five see a flop of 77T. You bet pot on flop and are checkraised by villian. It is folded to you and a reraise puts you all in. Is there any way to save your stack here? This happened to me twice tonight on Party (flopped top boat vs. flopped quads) and I lost my stack both times. Am I just unlucky? The odds of a flopped top boat versus flopped quads must be pretty small and then add to that the likelihood of having it happen twice in one session.

[/ QUOTE ]

You should be losing your stack every time here. It's the right play. Too many idiots are willing to push with A7 or 7T here, and there is only one combiation of a hand that beast you. Don't sweat it.

-Todd
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:03 PM
joewatch joewatch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 152
Default Re: Saving your stack

[ QUOTE ]
I played with someone who lost to six set over set situations in one night, that has to be close to a record.


[/ QUOTE ]

That is quite a bit different than top full vs quads.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.