Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-28-2005, 12:11 AM

Default Other Aspects of My Life Affecting my Play

I started playing fairly recently and am able to beat the lower small stakes games at Party at a respectable rate.

The problem is that when something happens in my life that upsets me - particulartly when relationships arent going well - I sort of tilt in a weird way and will lose enough so that I end up just staying even.

My brother has been coming to my area on business or with his family quite a bit recently, every month for the last 3 months. Every time he visits, after he leaves I lose everything or almost everything that I have won in the previsious week or longer. The second time it happened I thought maybe there was a pattern. The next time I definitely thought there was a connection. Then I noticed that I was not really concentrating, that in a weird way I was almost doing it on purpose without realizing it.

Anyone else notice wierd sort of destructive patterns like this or correlations between how life is going and how poker is going?
Old 06-28-2005, 02:04 AM

Default Re: Other Aspects of My Life Affecting my Play

In the middle of may my college spring quarter was about to end, and I was all psyched up about getting to play more poker than I normally could. Of course, I lost half of the money that I'd built up over 8 months in a span of 1 month.

Also, I was experimenting with new limits, I jumped into $2/$4 limit and $1/$2 6max limit after not playing $.50/$1 for 4 months! I was in to $25NL 6max, and the transition from NL back to limit plus the psychological hit of being able to play more poker and moving up in limits at the same time hit me hard [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

I just moved back to $.50/$1 limit and have made a cool $80 over 750 hands, gonna play 1,000 more then take a stab at $2/$4 again.