Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-28-2003, 07:20 PM

Default Taking notes at the table - Does it affect your opponents?

On my next trip to Vegas in a couple months I was thinking about taking a small pocket sized notepad to record a few various thoughts/hands/etc... I want to be able to go back and review some hands that I'm in on later when i don't have time to do it, at least in detail, at the table.

Even if done discreetly, is this something that would cause other players at the table to react to? I play LL ($3/6 -$6-12) and notice that most opponents are so bad and so inattentive that they wouldn't even notice. However, I'm interested on how others at the table might react to that.

I've never done it before and can't recall anyone really overtly doing it at any table that I was at. Of course, I don't plan on recording every hand - just a few that I want to clearly remember most of the details that I normally forget after playing another several hours. Every time I think I'll remember - when the sessions over I'm always missing a few details that I'd like to have to recap and evaluate.

I think I can do it fairly inconspicuously - but don't know as I've never tried it before. I'm not dead set on it - especially if it will adversely affect how others play against me - but interested to hear any opinions...
Old 01-28-2003, 08:31 PM

Default Re: Taking notes at the table - Does it affect your opponents?

I hate to say it, but if I saw you taking notes and I even THOUGHT it might be about the game - I would think you were a HUGE dork that took the game too seriously - which is a big no-no at the low limits. Have you read the loose game section of HPFAP? Anything that tips you off as being "better" than everyone else is BAD BAD BAD.

Let me tell a story: