Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-24-2005, 12:43 AM

Default Preflop raising in limit O/8

I'm somewhat new to this game, so forgive me if this is basic or redundant. I'm not familiar with the math behind drawing hands in this game. How many players must you expect in the pot before you can profitably raise the following hands, if you raise them at all:

(if you don't know for sure, I'd be interested in how you play them)

1.A2xx-suited ace
2.A2xx-unsuited
3.A3xx-suited ace
4.A3(KQ/JT)-unsuited
5.KQJT-doublesuited
6.KQJT-single/unsuited
7.5432-single/unsuited
8.AAxx-doublesuited aces
9.AAxx-suited ace
10.A45x-suited ace
12.A45x-unsuited
Old 06-24-2005, 03:20 AM

Default Re: Preflop raising in limit O/8

In a loose low limit game, I usually only raise with A2 from late position (unless it's extremely loose and I don't think my raise will thin the field any, then I'll raise from anywhere), and my hand must have some high potential or another low card: A2QQ, A2 suited, etc. A23 is good too.

I wouldn't play KQJT single suited at all unless I was in the small blind, maybe the button.
Old 06-24-2005, 03:27 AM

sy_or_bust - All the hands you have listed are generally recognized as reasonable starting hands for beginners. In addition, there are some other very strong starting hands, for example double suited 23KK.

Of the hands you have listed, I'd tend NOT to raise, pre-flop, with
5.KQJT-double suited and
6.KQJT-single/unsuited.

Some very fine Omaha-8 ring game players disagree with me. Some other very fine Omaha-8 players agree with me.

With the other hands you have listed, whether to raise or not is very situationally dependent, in my humble opinion. In other words, I'd raise with any of them in certain situations but in other situations, I wouldn't raise with them.