Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Computer Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:19 PM
LoaferGee12 LoaferGee12 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dreading my first downswing
Posts: 478
Default Wireless

I've installed wireless on my desktop and I went to connect to the internet on my laptop and it worked. However, nothing seems to respond like it's connected to the internet. My internet explorer will not do anything, so I'm basically not connected. Any solutions to this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:41 PM
contentless contentless is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Wireless

Go to Start > Network Connections, and right-click on your wireless connection and click 'Status'. Go over to the Support tab and if it doesn't say 'Assigned by DHCP', you're going to have to make it that.

There are a couple of things to check:
1) That you're connecting to the right SSID.
2) That you have the correct key entered if you have to enter one.
3) That your router is set up correctly.

First off, just power cycle your router. Pull out the plug for a minute and plug it back in. If you're on cable, you'll want to do the same with the cable before that. If none of that stuff works, come back and we'll talk more.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:39 PM
LoaferGee12 LoaferGee12 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dreading my first downswing
Posts: 478
Default Re: Wireless

[ QUOTE ]
Go to Start > Network Connections, and right-click on your wireless connection and click 'Status'. Go over to the Support tab and if it doesn't say 'Assigned by DHCP', you're going to have to make it that.

There are a couple of things to check:
1) That you're connecting to the right SSID.
2) That you have the correct key entered if you have to enter one.
3) That your router is set up correctly.

First off, just power cycle your router. Pull out the plug for a minute and plug it back in. If you're on cable, you'll want to do the same with the cable before that. If none of that stuff works, come back and we'll talk more.

[/ QUOTE ]

Checked that DHCP thing on my laptop and it's there. Not sure how to do those middle 3 steps, and I think I did that last thing. Laptop is still showing that it's connected but Int. Explorer still isn't working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:45 PM
Dudd Dudd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 203
Default Re: Wireless

I assume you are using some sort of wireless router, have you gone through the setup wizard? Try typing http://192.168.1.1 into your internet browser and see if your router config page comes up. If it does, run the wizard and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.