Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-16-2005, 11:24 PM

Default Do I have a bad poker disease?

My overall winnings since i bought pokertracker in november 04 (by date). As you can see, my troubles started 15th of may:

I think I've either gone on a losing streak or there is something fundamentally wrong.
Here is $1/$2 6max, all of the losing occurring after reading in the short handed forum about being aggressive. Maybe a little too aggressive? My PF raise is low (7%) but maybe I'm just lacking in post-flop play. If I fold to a $1 bet on the flop after a raise or a limp, people ALWAYS bet into me because they think i am weak and will fold to any cheap bet, so i usually call.

And now $2/$4 limit, which i started playing once i hit $1100 (slightly underbankrolled, i know)

And $25 and $50 no limit 6max graphs are no less unimpressive, I've got some kind of poker disease!

My VPIP's: $25NL 6max: 27%. $50NL 6max:24.5%. $1/$2 limit 6max: 23.5%. $2/$4 full ring limit 13.3% (low i know, but sample size only 2200 hands.)
All graph peaks occurred at or near May 15, now $400 poorer at June 16.

I remember reading somewhere that there are 4 stages of a successful poker player's life. First stage is the tight-passive/aggressive stage where you first learn which cards to play and you begin to understand position.
The second stage is the stage when you realise that every decent hand can have value. You play more hands postflop and try to get value for small edges. Most players will not survive this stage.
The third stage is where you know exactly when the cards have value and you know exactly when to use this knowledge.
The fourth stage is poker stardom.