Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Home Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-14-2005, 04:14 PM

Default I can\'t help feeling like s**t about this...

It was about 2.5 hours into a home game tourney when I made a total rookie mistake. (I've been playing for about 2 years now and have gotten used to NOT making such basic and avoidable errors.) It was down to 4 handed and the blinds had gotten pretty hefty. I pushed on the button with AQo and was called by the BB with 77 (he had me covered). By the river the board read K 10 4 K 10, making my A high the winning hand. However, like an idiot, I was only lookind for and A, Q, or K on the river and failed to realize that the second 10 nullified BB's smaller pair. As I hung my head in unjustified disgust and mumbled something like 'It's all you, man', another player informed me that I had actually won the pot. Of course I was happy to realize that I wasn't knocked out, but I was immediately pissed at myself for not noticing something so obvious. (My excuse is that I had worked for 10 hours that day and was about 5 beers deep.) As I thanked the other player for correcting me, he began berrating himself for saying anything and becoming involved in a hand he wasn't even in. Needless to say the BB was equally annoyed and refused to comment on...well...anything. He just sat the rest of the game in relative silence. Anyway, the whole mood of the table changed after that hand and the game never really recovered. I went on to win the tourney with mixed feelings.

What should I have done (besides not make a nOOb mistake)? Should I have conceded the pot? Was my other friend wrong for speaking up? What's the proper etiqutte for this kind of akward situation?
Old 06-14-2005, 04:26 PM

Default Re: I can\'t help feeling like s**t about this...

[ QUOTE ]