Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-14-2005, 10:47 AM

Default Back Pain - Percocette and Poker

I have been playing for a couple months on-line at Party. Recently I play mostly 2/4 HE but also 1/2 and .5/1. My problem is that I almost always win in the morning, before by back pain really hits and before I have taken any percocette. And, surprise surprise, more often than not I lose in the afternoon and evening after I have had to take narcotics for the pain.

I am aware of this and am much better now about not playing after taking drugs - and believe me, percocette are powerful drugs. The pharmacist told me that the 7.5 mg pills I am prescribed are about 10 times as strong as codeine.

My presciption 12 months ago was for three 7.5 mg pills per day. This is 4.5 regular percocette. I needed and was taking all of them. Back pain can be agonizing and I am no wimp when it comes to physical pain, just the opposite in fact, I have a very high tolerance for pain. A couple years ago when I was 32 I had open heart surgery to replace a congenitally defective heart valve. I had the surgery on a Tues and by Fri I had stopped taking all prescription pain killers and was just using Tylenal and Motrin. I am not trying to be macho here - I'm a woman anyway - I'm just trying to make the point that I am not taking these pills for fun.

Anyway, over the last year I have done a great deal of physical therapy, see a chiropractor every week, do yoga and pilates etc. My back is greatly improved. I am now only prescribed 2 of the same pills per day and usually only need 1 to 1.5 per day.