Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-04-2005, 05:09 PM

Default Anatomy of a losing streak (no whining)

Down almost $2600 in the past two weeks playing PP NL 1000-200. Its unreal how long a streak of bad cards can go. Poker Tracker says Im fine. Usually on a bad run one should evaluate there play and fix there leaks. I think that cards can truely run bad for a while though with no fault on the player. I've played long enough to understand the nature of the game and it's downsides. I started playing three years ago and now looking back realize that after I got the fundamentals down I was on a bad streak a few months. Came out of it with very little out of my pocket and have'nt looked back since. I've cashed out around 10k so far this year and am now for the first time in two and a half years tapped out. Waiting for my rake back to kick in next Wednsday and that will get me about $750 again. I play every day and usually can squeeze in around 2000 hands. Now having to take a break for a week is killing me. I know a lot of people think its good to take a break evry now and then but I found in the long run the breaks hurt me more than they help. Ive replayed all the major losses this past week and I was a favorite in all the losses or had odds calling on huge draws ( twice had straight flush draws with huge pot odds and missed both)