Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-02-2005, 12:24 AM

Default Issues with continuation bets?

I'm a pretty tight player...10K hands, 19%VPIP (I just started playing 6 max, so this has gone up a bit as of late), pf raise 6.5%. Here's my problem.

I raise 4xBB plus one for callers EVERY time I raise, no exceptions. I continuation bet 95% of the time (I generally won't if there's quite a few callers and the flop is real ugly for me). I've learned a few things but mainly is don't overplay tptk or overpairs. Here's the problem, basically if someone is still with me after my continuation bet I almost feel I have to back off because no one is sticking around for the pf raise, then the 2/3 continuation bet without a big hand. Say I raise AK and hit the K. By the time my continuation bet is called, the pot is pretty large and I know TPTK or overpairs don't hold up well in large pots. Am I supposed to lay off on the turn bet even if it means a free card? Plus, I feel like if someone reraises my flop bet (assuming it's not a minraise) I have to fold. (i've been completely lit up with other guys sets in the past week, I'm down a few hundred)

Any thoughts, suggestions? How do you deal with the turn?

For example, say stacks are even, I'm on the button....2 limpers, I raise 4xBB plus one for callers on the button with AKs. They both call.

Flop comes A 10 5, two suited (not my suit)
Checked to me, I bet 2/3, one calls

Turn comes blank
Checked to me....are you firing again? If he calls this, you're likely beat, no? If he puts a decent bet into you are you dropping the hand? Do you check and give him a free shot at his possible flush draw? I'm looking for some insight.
Old 05-02-2005, 01:00 AM

Default Re: Issues with continuation bets?