Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-18-2005, 03:04 AM

Default Theory Recommendations?

Hey everyone.
I have a question for you all. I have been playing Hold Em now alot for the last 5 months or so and have been getting better everytime I play.
I was told to read some poker theory as that would greatly improve my game. I thought, cool sounds like a plan.
So I was checkin for articles online and couldnt really find any that actually taught me anything, just a bunch of sites offering to sell me books.
I have read some excerpts from the leading theory book HPFAP and the reading litterally blew my mind. I thought I was half retarded or something because I couldnt understand anything.
So after that little novel, my question is this. Can anyone recommend some reading material that isn't so harsh for a begginner? I would prefer to read something online for free, but if I have to buy a book, I will, just as long as it's not too expensive (Im a student) and as long as I can understand it.

Thanks alot,
BonzeMalone.
Old 04-18-2005, 03:39 AM

Default Re: Theory Recommendations?

What specific concepts were you having trouble with? Also which ones do you already know?

You might have been a bit ahead of yourself jumping straight to HPFAP. First try Low Stakes Hold Em, It explained everything very easily for me and gave many examples for each concept. Also another must read is the THeory of Poker, I have not gotten the chance to read it yet (I'm also a poor college student) because I have very selectively chosen the books I buy.

You are going to have to pay for SSHE, but it is worth it. Once you have read that and understand it (it will take one read through, followed by a second read with a hi-lighter), then move onto HPFAP and possibly the THeory of POker.
Old 04-18-2005, 03:54 AM

Right on, thanks Bartman.