Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Sports Betting
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-13-2005, 11:31 AM

Default A couple of \"newb\" questions. All replies appreciated.

Hi all -

I am just getting into sports betting. I have always bet football games with the basic ATS bets. However, I am betting baseball for the first time and have a few newb questions that i was hoping some of you could take the time to give me a quick answer to.

First of all, what exactly is a "unit"? When I see a line that says, for example, "-110", I am assuming that the "-110" is a single unit. But what exactly does that mean? If someone could give me a brief but thorough explanation of the concept of units and how it is meassured I would appreciate it.

Secondly, I have seen lines listed a couple of ways. What is the differnce between a line like "St. Louis -1 -116" and "St. Louis -116"? Again, any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-13-2005, 11:56 AM

Default Re: A couple of \"newb\" questions. All replies appreciated.

A unit is your standard wagering amount -- this is unique to each individual. Typically you would want this to be about 1%-2% of your sports betting bankroll. When you see a line listed at -110, that means you have to bet $110 to make $100, or you have to lay 11/10 odds. Using these odds, you can work out what the figures will be for your specific betting amount. As an example, let's say my betting unit is $500. Then for a line of -110, I have to bet $550 to win $500.

The STL -1.5 is a runline. Without the -1.5, STL just has to win the game for you to win your bet. With the -1.5, they have to win by at least 1.5 runs (so really at least 2).
Old 04-13-2005, 12:04 PM

Both questions are very simple to explain and understand.. here goes: