Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-12-2005, 10:27 AM

Default Getting my head around SSHE

Hi I'm a newbie here and I've been playing poker for nearly two months now.

I first bought PPLTP from Hellmuth as it was the only book for sale in Amsterdam :-) I tried it out and lost a lot of money real quick! Might work in B&M games but certainly not in 0,50/1,- on PP.

After doing a lot of searching and reading on the net I decided that SSHE might be the next best step and I've had the book for aprox three weeks.

It might very well be me who's stoopid but I really have to read a bit, play a couple of hundred hands and read some more chapter by chapter to get my head around it. The loose components all make sense but it's hard to apply them all at the same time without breaking out a sweat and having too little time to act.

What I basically do now is trying to apply things step by step. I've been working on my preflop play intensively lately and I think that I now finally have to discipline to follow the chart and am also starting to graps WHY the chart is smart.

Next is the postflop play. I've read all of it but when I'm rereading it carefully now with more played hands under my belt I get a lot of A-HA! moments and see how I've misinterpreted it the first time around. Better understanding is slowly creeping in.

I still start over every couple of days and reread everything to see if I'm still on the right track with earlier concepts as I tend to stray to the dark side every now and again.