Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-11-2005, 11:10 PM

Default JTs in the Big Blind

Party 15/30 - Ten Handed

I'm fairly new to the table, but here's what I have:
UTG: has played half of his 45 hands, somewhat aggressive
MP2: No Read
Cutoff: very loose after 100 hands, 50%vpip 12% pfr
Button: played half of his 37 hands; 9% raised..Passive after flop

I'm at a good table.

I am the big blind with J [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]T [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]
UTG limps, MP2 limps, Cutoff had posted and checks, Button Raises, all call. (5.3 BB)

Flop is 6 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]Q [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]4 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]
Checked all around. (5.3BB) Something is fishy here..

Turn is the 3 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]
I bet. Called around to button, who raises. All Call. (15BB)

River is the 2 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]
I check, UTG folds(!?), MP2 checks, Cutoff Checks, Button Bets.

Your thoughts on my play thus far, and what is my move here?
Old 04-11-2005, 11:19 PM

Default Re: JTs in the Big Blind

I think your play is good, and you call the river.
Old 04-11-2005, 11:21 PM

your river check sucks. bet out.

think about whats going to happen if you check versus when you bet. There's a good chance he's not betting this river. Also checkraising kills your action, and checking with the intention of getting a bet from the button and going for overcalls has a a lot of risk to it mainly button not betting and killing the possibility of a 3-bet even if it is remote.
Old 04-11-2005, 11:34 PM

I wouldn't bet the turn as you're not winning this one unimproved and it seems like someone is setting up for a raise. Even if the pf raiser has nothing, chances are someone in EP has a hand they'll want to protect. So just check-call the turn.