Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-02-2005, 08:25 PM

Default Starting to question if this gme is profitable

I've read posts from a lot of guys here who say they make money playing poker. I kind of know it is possible, but still I wonder if it really is. I've been playing for a couple months now, I play 40 hours a week at least. I don't have anything to show for it (except a few hundred in bonus money) I know there's a small chance I'm in a breakeven streak but I doubt it. Anyways enough ranting, here is a picture of my session stats

Is there anything that sticks out as wrong? (besides all the red numbers) What should my % of winning sessions be? Has anyone else noticed their longer sessions tend to have wrose results than their short ones? (Maybe this points to a bad player?)

Thanks
Old 04-02-2005, 08:36 PM

Default Re: Starting to question if this gme is profitable

why do the hands not add up to 25k? Oh nevermind, I guess there are some .5/1 hands or something. Sample is still pretty small.
Old 04-02-2005, 08:40 PM

I wouldn't be worrying about your % of winning sessions, that's not a very important metric (but yours is kinda low).

Stats like vpip and pfr are way mroe important, thought processes behind your play in hands is more important yet.

Also, how the hell do you play 6 hours at one table? You may want to work on better game selection.
Old 04-02-2005, 08:42 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I've read posts from a lot of guys here who say they make money playing poker. I kind of know it is possible, but still I wonder if it really is.

[/ QUOTE ]

Nope, you can't win playing poker.

Nobody does.
Old 04-02-2005, 08:52 PM

Low VPIP.