Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-02-2005, 05:08 PM

Default Very strange hand. Comments, please?

I was involved in a hand last night, that turned out to be one of the weirdest hands I've seen. I'm interested in your thoughts on the questions at the bottom.

The situation: Final table (10 players) of a NL home tourney that started with 45 or so players. Blinds are 450/900. We started with 3000 in chips, and I'm sitting in probably 7th place with 8800 chips (down from 17000, when I was chip leader at the previous break; mostly from blinds and a couple calls that missed the flop). Top 5 places pay, so I'm hoping to make a move. The first 5 hands at the table were pretty tight, with 2 of them folded to the blinds.

No one had a commanding lead, so stack sizes aren't that important. Here's how it played out (sorry if the syntax isn't right; I'm new at this):

UTG: Calls. No read on him.
UTG+1: Calls. No read on him.
MP1: Calls. He is a friend and a very good, but VERY tight player. He would raise with a premium hand.
MP2: Fold
LP1: Raises 3000 (making it 3900). He is a very good player.
LP2: This is me. I've got KK. I'm sure LP1 has a pocket pair that isn't AA, so I'm dominating him. I push all in for 8800 (reraising LP1 4900). I'm pretty sure all will fold except LP1, who I put on QQ or JJ.
Cuttoff: Calls my all in.
Button: Folds
SB: Folds
BB: Thinks about it for about 2 minutes, then makes a scene about thinking he probably is folding a winner. He folds.

Flop comes: 467

LP1: Checks.
Cuttoff: Pushes all in.
LP1: Calls.

Turn is a 4.
River is a 5.

LP1 has QQ.
I (LP2) have KK.
Cutoff has AA.

Cutoff knocks both of us out as the aces hold up.

Other players comment on their hands:
UTG folded 33.
MP1 folded 1010.
BB folded 88. And for all his moping about laying down the winner, he would have won with a straight.