Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-30-2005, 03:55 PM

Default being raised when i am in the big nlind

I am fairly new to omaha8.I find that I am frequently raised when I am in blind.What is the proper play there when you dont have a decent or even playable hand? The answer seems like I should fold but by folding my weaker hands ( which is more often than not ) do i make myself to easy to maneuver.
Help
I don't want to be pushed over but I also don't want to put good money in after bad.I feel like I am doing both.
TY
Old 03-30-2005, 05:49 PM

Default Re: being raised when i am in the big nlind

Well if you're the only one left against the raiser, then it's generally correct to call with almost any hand since heads up no hand is more than a 2:1 favorite over any other hand. If there's a lot of people in then I wouldn't play any hand you wouldn't normally play for one bet.
Old 03-30-2005, 07:49 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Well if you're the only one left against the raiser, then it's generally correct to call with almost any hand since heads up no hand is more than a 2:1 favorite over any other hand. If there's a lot of people in then I wouldn't play any hand you wouldn't normally play for one bet.

[/ QUOTE ]

This raises a point I’ve been thinking about for awhile.

On the one hand, its correct that no hand is a really more than a 2:1 favorite.

On the other hand, if you’re facing an aggressive opponent who will likely bet on each street, then you call preflop, he bets you call on flop, same on turn and river. So the result is that you put in an extra 3 big bets by the river, whereas he put in 3 big bets and there were 1.5 big bets in before you called. So your odds are actually 4.5 to 3 and thus you need a 40% chance to win to justify calling down to river.