Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-28-2005, 06:18 AM

Default I keep losing, help.

I have been playing poker for about a year and a half now, and for the last 9 months or so, i have been a consistent winner. I'm a full time university student, so I dont really have a job other than poker, but i can't play all day.

About 50 days ago, i had made around 11 thousand dollars playing poker thus far in my life. now, that number is around 7500. I really am finding it hard to win all of a sudden. Traditionally i would play 1/2 nl cash games, and some tourneys here and there. About half of my bankroll was from multis. Now, anywhere i play, i lose. I sit down for 200 at a 1/2 table, and i lose it. I play the sunday 250k, and i lose it. I've dropped in limits so i dont shatter my bankroll, but i am still losing- just slower. I really dont know what it is and i realize this may seem like a stupid post, just some kid whining about poker.

I really consider myself an excellent poker player, and I feel that that is an accurate assessment, as I tend to be brutally honest with myself. So my question is this, Have any of you ever had a run of losses where you really couldn't explain it to yourselves? I feel as though this run is a combination of poor play and some rough cards. I never like to blame bad beats for losses, so I'm leaning toward thinking that something psychological may have happened, that is throwing off my game.

I have been playing quite a bit with a friend of mine lately, who plays an ultra aggressive style of play, and has incredible raw talent with his poker skills. Without a doubt his style has rubbed off on me. Perhaps this has thrown off my game, i cant tell. Maybe I reached a point in my poker playing where I am too overconfident in my abilities, and I abondon the basics. Has this happened to any of you?