Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-24-2005, 11:39 PM

Default My first lesson from Small Stakes Holdem - Cold Calling

I started playing poker online about a year ago and read lots of books before starting. I read ToP and HEFAP and started playing $.50/$1 limit games online and $5 SNGs. I lost a lot. I then read WLLHE and started doing a little bit better.

Enter 2+2.com I started reading posts here around Xmas and seriously studing my game. When I read Gary Carson's Complete Book of Holdem (got it for xmas), things started to click. I finally understood bet odds vs pot odds. The posts here helped me out a lot too. I bought poker tracker and started logging all of my hands online instead of putting my session wins and losses into an excel spreadsheet (which I would conveniently forget to do when I had a really bad session). I was shocked to learn that I was a 40 VPIP LAG. I downloaded the hand charts from SSHE from here and have managed to get my VPIP down to the low 20s now and it has helped immensely.